R.I. Harris Memorial Lecture

Dr. R.I. Harris significantly contributed to and shaped orthopaedics in Canada, and following his passing in 1966 the Foundation wished to honour his legacy by establishing a lecture session annually at the Canadian Orthopaedic Association’s (COA) Annual Meeting. The lectureship would create an opportunity for Canadian surgeons to meet and learn from distinguished guest lecturers from around the world.  The Lectureship was approved by the COA Executive in 1968, and Sir Reginald Watson-Jones was invited to be the inaugural lecturer. As tribute to his friendship with Dr. Harris, Sir Reginald entitled his lecture: “Robert Harris and Amputations. Amputation of the Body and the Mind”. Since then, orthopaedic surgeons from around the world have presented at this annual lecture.

R.I. Harris Memorial Lecturers

1968Sir Reginald Watson-JonesLondon, England
1969J.I.P. JamesEdinburgh, Scotland
1970Bryan Keon-CohenMelbourne, Australia
1971Robert A. RobinsonBaltimore, MD
1972André DanisBrussels, Belgium
1973R.B. DuthieOxford, England
1974G.C. Lloyd-RobertsLondon, England
1975Leon L. WiltseLong Beach, CA
1976Frederick P. DewarToronto, ON
1977Frank P. PattersonVancouver, BC
1978Sir Denis PattersonAdelaide, Australia
1979Graham ApleySurrey, England
1980Henry J. MankinBoston, MA
1981Paul CurtissBoston, MA
1982J. William FieldingNew York, NY
1983William EnnekingJacksonville, FL
1984Philip D. WilsonNew York, NY
1985David S. BradfordMinneapolis, MN
1986Clement B. SledgeBoston, MA
1987Hans K. UhthoffOttawa, ON
1988John A. WilkinsonSouthampton, England
1989Norbert GschwendZurich, Switzerland
1990Charles SorbieKingston, ON
1991Henry BohlmanCleveland, OH
1992Robert Y. McMurtryCalgary, AB
1993John V. FowlesMontreal, QC
1994John E. HallBoston, MA
1995Robert W. JacksonDallas, TX
1996Allan E. GrossToronto, ON
1997Morris DuhaimeMontreal, QC
1998Cecil H. RorabeckLondon, ON
1999Robert B. BourneLondon, ON
2000Robert N. MeekVancouver, BC
2001Peter J. FowlerLondon, ON
2002James P. WaddellToronto, ON
2003Richard L. CruessMontreal, QC
2004Cyril B. FrankCalgary, AB
2005Hubert LabelleMontréal, QC
2006Paul H. WrightVancouver, BC
2007Willam R.J. RennieWinnipeg, MB
2008Norman S. SchacharCalgary, AB
2009Robin R. RichardsToronto, ON
2010Nick MohtadiCalgary, AB
2011Thomas A. RussellMemphis, TN
2012Daniel BerryRochester, MN
2013Keith WillettOxford, England
2014Cecil H. RorabeckLondon, ON
2015Robert B. BourneLondon, ON
2016Marc SwiontkowskiBloomington, MN
2017Richard J. HawkinsUSA / Canada
2018Stuart L. WeinsteinIowa City, IA
2019Richard L. CruessMontreal, QC
2020Douglas C. ThomsonMono, ON