Bones and Phones Scholarship

The Bones and Phones Legacy Scholarship Fund was established to recognize orthopaedic residents who have demonstrated commitment and contribution to enhancing musculoskeletal health in their community, or abroad, beyond that which would be expected during their residency training period. Commitment and contributions may be in the form of volunteerism, education or special events, and must be in addition to what is typically expected during training.

One thousand dollars will be awarded on an annual basis to an orthopaedic resident in his or her year prior to their final year of clinical training who is a member of the Canadian Orthopaedic Association and who meets the criteria as outlined in the guidelines and application documentation.

Founded by Dr. Veronica Wadey and Mr. Henry Chow, this award recognizes and honors the vital role surgeons play in the lives of others. The scholarship fund celebrates exceptional residents by honoring their dedication to community spirit and/or giving back for the benefit of others. It recognizes individuals that demonstrate passion for orthopaedics and embrace initiatives that go well beyond their expected duties.

For more detailed information, including criteria, eligibility, process and timing:

Bones and Phones – Guidelines & Application Form

Bones and Phones – Letter of Nomination

Bones and Phones Scholarship Recipients

The Canadian Orthopaedic Foundation is pleased to have awarded the following Bones and Phones Legacy Scholarships:


Jessica Page (University of Calgary) for her role in the Direct from the Operating Room: Interactive realtime broadcasts of total knee arthroplasty to high school students.


Dr. Michael MacKechnie (University of Toronto) for his role in the Development of a contextually appropriate orthopedic surgery training program in Botswana.

Dr. Thierry Pauyo (McGill University) for his role in Evaluating Google Glass in peri-operative orthopaedic consultations: Linking Haiti to Canada.


Dr. Marie-Eve Pelletier (University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC) for her commitment and contribution to enhancing musculoskeletal health through the Uganda Sustainable Trauma Orthopedic Program (USTOP).